Aretha Franklin - Young, Gifted And Black
Artist: Aretha Franklin

Category: Funk / Soul

Name: Young, Gifted And Black

Size: 1324 mb

Quality: flac, MP3

Aretha Franklin - Young, Gifted And Black

Label: Atlantic ‎– SD 7213
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, CTH
Country: US
Date of released: 24 Jan 1972
Category: Funk / Soul
Style: Soul

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Oh Me Oh My (I'm A Fool For You Baby)
Written-By – Jim Doris
A2 Day Dreaming
Written-By – Aretha Franklin
A3 Rock Steady
Written-By – Aretha Franklin
A4 Young, Gifted And Black
Written-By – Nina Simone
A5 All The King's Horses
Written-By – Aretha Franklin
A6 A Brand New Me
Written-By – Jerry Butler, Kenneth Gamble, Theresa Bell
B1 April Fools
Written-By – Burt Bacharach & Hall David*
B2 I've Been Loving You Too Long
Written-By – Jerry Butler, Otis Redding
B3 First Snow In Kokomo
Written-By – Aretha Franklin
B4 The Long And Winding Road
Written-By – John Lennon & Paul McCartney*
B5 Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
Written-By – Thomas Bell*, William Hart
B6 Border Song (Holy Moses)
Written-By – Elton John & Bernie Taupin

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
  • Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Terre Haute
  • Recorded At – Atlantic Studios
  • Recorded At – Criteria Recording Studios
  • Mastered At – Atlantic Studios
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
  • Published By – Nootrac
  • Published By – Pundit
  • Published By – Ninandy
  • Published By – Assorted Music
  • Published By – Parabut Music
  • Published By – Blue Seas
  • Published By – Jac Music
  • Published By – April Music
  • Published By – Maclen Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Nickel Shoe Music
  • Published By – Bell Boy Music
  • Published By – Dick James Music


  • Acoustic Guitar – Don Arnone (tracks: A2)
  • Arranged By [Horn] – Arif Mardin (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B1, B3 to B6), Tom Dowd (tracks: A3, B2)
  • Arranged By [String, Woodwind] – Arif Mardin
  • Backing Vocals – Carolyn Franklin (tracks: A2 A3, A5, B2 to B4), Erma Franklin (tracks: A2 A3, A5, B2 to B4), J.R. Bailey (tracks: B6), Margaret Branch (tracks: B4), Ronald Bright* (tracks: B6), Sammy Turner (tracks: B6), The Sweet Inspirations (tracks: A1, A4, A6, B6), The Sweethearts Of Soul (tracks: A2, A3, A5, B1 to B3)
  • Bass – Chuck Rainey (tracks: A2 to A5, B1, B3 to B6), Eric Gale (tracks: A1, A6), Robert Popwell (tracks: B2)
  • Celesta [Celeste] – Aretha Franklin (tracks: A5)
  • Concertmaster – Gene Orloff
  • Design [Backliner] – Alyse Koylan
  • Design [Cover] – Stanislaw Zagorski
  • Drums – Al Jackson Jr. (tracks: A1, A6), Bernard Purdie (tracks: A2, A3, A5, B1 to B3, B5), Ray Lucas (tracks: A4, B4, B6)
  • Engineer [Additional Recordings] – Don Cassale*, Jack Adams, Jimmy Douglass, Lew Hahn
  • Engineer [Recording] – Chuck Kirkpatrick (tracks: A2, A3, A5, B2, B3), Gene Paul (tracks: A1, A4, A6, B1, B4 to B6), Howie Albert* (tracks: A2, A3, A5, B2, B3), Ron Albert (tracks: A2, A3, A5, B2, B3)
  • Flute – Hubert Laws (tracks: B1, B5)
  • Flute [Alto] – Hubert Laws (tracks: A2)
  • Guitar – Cornell Dupree (tracks: A2 to A5, B1 to B6), Hugh McCracken (tracks: A1, A6)
  • Horns – The Memphis Horns (tracks: A3, B2)
  • Mastered By – GP*
  • Organ – Billy Preston (tracks: A4, B4, B6)
  • Organ, Electric Piano – Donny Hathaway
  • Percussion – Mac Rebennack (Dr. John)* (tracks: A3), Robert Popwell (tracks: A3)
  • Photography By – Ken Cunningham
  • Piano – Aretha Franklin
  • Producer – Arif Mardin, Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd (tracks: A2 to A5, B1 to B6)
  • Remix – Arif Mardin
  • Soloist, Trumpet – Neal Rosengarden* (tracks: B3)
  • Vibraphone – Neal Rosengarden* (tracks: A5)
  • Vocals – Aretha Franklin


"CTH" in label matrix denotes a Columbia-Terre Haute pressing.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side One): ST-A-712393 CTH
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side Two): ST-A-712394 CTH
  • Matrix / Runout (Side One Etched): ST A 712393-1A T
  • Matrix / Runout (Side Two Etched ): ST A 712394-1A T
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SD 7213 Aretha Franklin Young, Gifted And Black ‎(LP, Album, PR) Atlantic SD 7213 US 1972
SD 7213 Aretha Franklin Young, Gifted And Black ‎(LP, Album, Club, RCA) Atlantic SD 7213 US 1972
SD 7213 Aretha Franklin Young, Gifted And Black ‎(LP, Album, Promo, RI) Atlantic SD 7213 US 1972
LM 2466 Aretha Franklin Young, Gifted And Black ‎(LP, Album, Unofficial) Liming Record LM 2466 Taiwan 1972
M 87213 Aretha Franklin Young, Gifted And Black ‎(8-Trk, Album, Bla) Atlantic M 87213 US 1972